Reviews

Please Leave Your Review In Box Below, Thank You

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Average rating:  
 2 reviews
by Morag BIlly. Mclean on GROOBY'S PIT
Brilliant

Thanks toTracy and Neil for there hard work and there dedication to this site well worth our journey down from Scotland. 5 out 5 gold stars in our opinion. Welcoming, stunning, spotless, fishing, peace and quiet.There are requests in place for guests to follow and that is why this site is stunning.Well worth a visit, Aw the best Morag BIlly 1 .9 17

Thank you Morag & Billy for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope you visit us again. Kind regards, Tracy & Neil

by Karen & David Dance on GROOBY'S PIT

Thanks so much Tracy & Neil for such a beautiful place to visit. Site is spotless. For us, a bonus that there were no children running around. So peaceful. Keep up the good work!

Thank you Karen for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you again. Kind regards Tracy

Tony & Carol Horrocks Sept 2017
Pitch type: Pitch 11 electric gravel motorhome pitch
Liked: Adults Only, Peace and quiet,Restful,tranquil site, EHU and water on pitches,
Spotless toilet/shower block,
Very well maintained grounds,with lighting at night,
Friendly and helpful owners.
Wildlife in the area.
Pitches are level and roomy enough even for my rubbish reversing!
10 PM curfew for cars on site.
10 minute walk to the nearby pub!
Chickens/ducks and geese roaming free,
We are newbies at motor homing and are very much feeling our feet at the moment.
So far this has been the best site we have over-nighted at by a long chalk…we really enjoyed the site and the area.

Mal & Karen White 17th July to 20th July 2017

Many thanks for a wonderful week at the lakeside.  Excellent site, excellent service, we really enjoyed ourselves. Regards, Karen & Mal.

Di & Den Cass 15th – 22nd July 2017 –

Just spent a lovely relaxing week at this lovely site made to feel very welcome from the moment we got there. It was so peaceful and quiet, the toilet block was immaculate and clean. We will be coming back again.

Dave White 9th – 14th July 2017

To Tracy & Neil,

Thank you for one of my best fishing holidays ! your place is Magical it has everything, loved the peace &…tranquillity it offers, the abundance of wildlife is amazing.I really enjoyed my stay in camping pod so much so has I am planning my next return Aug/sept if you will have me. loved the hens made my stay even better ( thanks for the eggs ). The toilet shower block was fantastic always plenty of hot water, cleanliness & fresh thank you. The only sad part was when I had to come home.

Terry & Pam Metson –  30th June til 7th July 2017

A big thank you for a lovely weeks holiday. The scenery is fantastic, the site clean & nicely planned. The ducks & chickens roam in natural surroundings and are so friendly. Next visit I will bring some chicken & duck food instead of bread for them as I so enjoyed them. To top everything we feel we have made two nice friends and many acquaintances with other campers. Look forward to coming again soon.

Graham & Kath Burns – 9th – 16th June 2017

Tracy n Neil, thanks for the privilege of us using your campsite for the week “amazing place”, will be back for sure as Kath has put you to the top of our site list, sorry we missed you when we left plus empting your egg box.

Fond regards Kath & Budge ( Burns)

Brothers Brian & Graham Mercer – June 2017

A big thank you to you and Neil from Graham and me for your warm hospitality during our stay.We had a brilliant time and Graham is adamant that we will return.The peace and tranquillity of your haven, the quality of the fish in your picturesque lake and the excellent facilities availablereflect the thought and effort that you are both putting in to Grooby’s, and we wish you continued success.It is always a pleasure to be in the company of nice people and you and Neil are certainly in that category.Unfortunately our peaceful break came to an end too quickly, but happily we both look forward to seeing you both again.We may even let Betty join us, as long as she behaves!Our thanks and very best wishes.Brian and Graham
Amanda & Mark Brown – May 2017

Loved this site so much that we booked to go again, before we even left. Tracey met us at the gate and welcomed us by first name, she also took the names of our dogs. Not once did she forget our names throughout the stay which I think is an amazing achievement, especially when you consider just how many different people she meets each week. She walked us to our pitch and provided us with all the information required for our stay.

The site was spotless and perfectly quiet, just what we were after. The toilet/shower block were fantastic – so clean. I’ve never used a toilet block like it. Lovey warm showers with lots of room to move around to get dry – all included in the cost.
Tracey even provided us with a couple of free ranged eggs from her hens.

We loved the free range ducks coming to us for breakfast each morning, so relaxing.
We have only give the Facilities/Activities a 3 because it only provides basic facilities – its not “all singing, all dancing” with a shop, swimming pool, bar etc. But we like it this way. If you require the “job lot” then this site isn’t for you.

Its in a perfect location and is secluded. We can’t wait to go again. Loved this site so much that we booked to go again, before we even left. Tracey met us at the gate and welcomed us by first name, she also took the names of our dogs. Not once did she forget our names throughout the stay which I think is an amazing achievement, especially when you consider just how many different people she meets each week. She walked us to our pitch and provided us with all the information required for our stay.
The site was spotless and perfectly quiet, just what we were after. The toilet/shower block were fantastic – so clean. I’ve never used a toilet block like it. Lovey warm showers with lots of room to move around to get dry – all included in the cost.
Tracey even provided us with a couple of free ranged eggs from her hens.

We loved the free range ducks coming to us for breakfast each morning, so relaxing.
We have only give the Facilities/Activities a 3 because it only provides basic facilities – its not “all singing, all dancing” with a shop, swimming pool, bar etc. But we like it this way. If you require the “job lot” then this site isn’t for you.
Its in a perfect location and is secluded. We can’t wait to go again.

May 2017 – Curlyman

Excellent
3 words – You must visit!
Friendly, helpful, clean, quiet, good fishing, good location for walks, towns, villages, pubs, relaxing, nothing to much trouble very obliging people.

September 2016 Marcia12

Great site, very helpful owners and good fishing lake. Only 2 mile to next village for shopping. Great little pub just round the corner we eat at the pub good food and dog friendly The Three Tuns. The site is very clean and has some nice wildlife. Will be going back next year.

August 2016 – Tasha2812

We’ve just spent the last 5 days at Grooby’s Pit for the first time and have returned home feeling relaxed and pleased that we have found a gem of a fishing caravan site. The owners, Tracey and Neil, run a very professional, efficient and successful business but with a personal approach that makes you feel like you’re a friend coming to stay. We came for the fishing and despite a thunderstorm one night, several types of fish were caught including carp, bream and perch. The layout of the fishing pegs is well thought out and the toilet/shower block is exceptional. The gift of a freshly laid egg each from Tracey was a lovely touch, and we look forward to returning by the end of the year for another fishing weekend.

Richard Bowskill & Cat Rees – Fri 15th til Sun 17th July 2016

Just back from a weekend away. Stayed here and had a great time. Not only are Tracy & Neil good hosts, they will help you out with anything you need. Local town is 2 miles away & it’s a great place to get the things you have forgotten. We stayed in the camping pod and it was beyond what we thought it could be. It was very dark at night so you could get a good nights sleep for a full day of fishing. The campsite is clean & tidy. Seems everyone who stays there has the same idea, relax, chill & fish. The fishing is excellent and you will be pulling them out all day long. We will be back for sure.

Mick Meehan & Sheila Brooks – Sat 2nd til Mon 4th Jan 2016

A very warm welcome by Tracy and a good site & area brief. The park is a very peaceful site that abounds with nature  and plenty of fishing. The river runs along the side and is a nice walk. Neil & Tracy have worked hard on this outstanding site and it is a pleasure to visit. Their enthusiasm is obvious. Plenty of walks & pubs within distance and a train station just at the end of the road with minimal stops. Various pitches were offered on arrival. The ablutions block was immaculate at all times of the day and the facilities were excellent. We had a very nice 2 day stay with our dogs, who loved it. We will be back. Many thanks to Neil & Tracy for a wonderful first experience in our new/old Legend.

Suzanne & Tony Hemingway – Friday 4th til Sun 6th Sept 2015

Tracy & Neil are the two loveliest people you could meet. On arrival they greeted us with the warmest welcome we have ever had from a site. Everything is spotlessly clean. Showers & toilets beautiful, the best I have been to. And to top it off I was given two eggs and tomatoes from their greenhouse. Chickens wonder freely so no fresher eggs than that. Loads of Damson plums to pick for my jam. What more could you ask for ? 100% coming back. Tony fished the whole time we were there and loved it. So relaxing and tranquil.

Val & Dennis Pope – Thurs 27th Aug til Tues 1st Sept 2015

Very friendly and helpful welcome. Excellent toilet & shower facilities, which are exceptionally clean and well presented. Grounds well maintained and attractive. Site quiet & relaxing. Fishing excellent. This is our second visit and already planning our next. will recommend.

Shaun & Cath Kearns – Fri 28th til Mon 31st Aug 2015

This is the first time we’ve been here, but it won’t be the last. When we first got here we were met by Tracy who welcomed us & explained everything. Very friendly person. The toilets & shower block are spotless & clean. The whole site is just very tidy. Tracy’s husband Neil came over and he was very helpful & explained the fishing, which is very good. The site overall is just fantastic 10/10. We will be back very soon.

Mark Campbell – 22nd til 29th Aug 2015

Though an infrequent camper, this site is so good, I must put pen to paper. Tracy & Neil, the perfect hosts. Friendly without being intrusive (a very difficult balance to get right). Neil immediately helped when he found out I had a problem with a split tent pole. Tracy warm & welcoming. Thank you both, you are running a business but I was made to feel a guest not a customer. Shower & toilet block & washing up facilities, better than immaculate. Adequate hooks & stool etc so that you weren’t thinking about where to put your stuff whilst having a shower. The welcome pack, such a simple idea, contained lots of useful information. The fishing was excellent. Once again “well maintained” pegs. The whole package perfect if you want a quiet break, in wonderful surroundings.

Barry & Christine Lebeter – 15th til 22nd Aug 2015

We have had a lovely time at Grooby’s Pit. The campsite is lovely and Neil & Tracy made us feel very welcome. Neil was kind enough to take Barry to the local shop for more fishing stuff. We had 2 x welcome eggs which we had for breakfast which were yummy. Also salad fresh from their greenhouse. The shower is kept very clean & tidy. Tracy works hard in & out all day to make sure it’s all clean. Neil cutting grass & keeping things lovely. Lovely kind couple. We had a lovely time and all being well we will be back next year.

Ross  & Kelly Taylor – 15th til 22nd August 2015

Well, what can we say! Brilliant! Absolutely fantastic, out of all the places I’ve camped, this has been the best experience so far.  Tracey and Neil are so nice, you feel so welcome and at home, both so very helpful and will drop whatever they are doing to help. (Thanks Neil for helping me when we had no light)

Great welcome pack with details of walks, pubs, shops, takeaways etc. was given some free eggs by Tracey, and some tomatoes and a cucumber all home grown.

Some lovely walks and bike rides, nice river and quiet roads. The site is peaceful, quiet and very tranquil. All pitches over look the lake, very well lit and a very friendly atmosphere.  Although I didn’t fish, but wish I had, the lake was very nice, well kept, well thought about swims, some hard standing and some grass.  Very well stocked and see some lovely fish being caught, and lots of them.  We sat round the lake in the evening to watch the sun set. Can’t wait to go back. The toilet block is very well maintained, fresh, clean, warm and cosy. I’ve stayed in hotels that didn’t have toilets and showers as nice as these.  Would recommend to any one and have done so already, will 100% be returning, and definitely fishing next time.  The pod looks nice so planning a weekend in that. Thanks again Tracey and Neil

 

Ross & Carol Manfredi – 10th til 15th Aug 2015

Couple with a motor home & Dog. Welcoming greeting on arrival and Tracy gave detailed information about the site/walks and where to eat. We had a spacious corner plot close to the fishing lake and field, which was useful for morning/evening walks with our dog. Good reception for TV. Shower/Toilet block always clean & tidy. The friendliness of Tracy & Neil made our 5 day stay most pleasurable and gifts of fresh produce were much appreciated. We will be back.

 

Janet & David Ball – 10th til 13th August 2015

Loved the site. Very welcoming hosts. Enjoyed the peace of no children. Fishing was great with lots of success.

Matthew & Tam Stanyer – 4th til 12th August 2015

We had a lovely welcome including fantastic free range eggs and a very useful welcome pack. The site is beautiful and tranquil and the free range chickens who come & say “Hello” are great. We have been here a week and have felt very relaxed. The site is peaceful and over looking the fishing lake is a really lovely outlook. The facilities are spotless as well. This is the first time we have brought our caravan to Lincolnshire and we will definitely be back. We have really enjoyed ourselves!

Barbara & David Powdrill – 9th til 11th August 2015

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by Tracy. The site amenities were shown to us en-route to the pitch. A welcome pack giving site info & local details was a nice touch, as it included local restaurant & pub details. Each pitch was a good size of hard standing with a large grass area to the side for each pitch. The toilet/shower block clean & pleasant to use with music playing at a discreet level. There was a very clean washing up area with hot water. The site was very well maintained & with a large lake and lots of wildlife was very attractive. The welcome received from Tracy & Neil is what makes this the friendly club. Being adult only, the site was peaceful both in location & guests. It is ideally positioned in the Lincolnshire countryside, but with easy reach of Skegness, Lincoln & other  points of interest. We will definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in very attractive surroundings with a warm welcome.

Mick & Shelia Quince – 6th til 11th August 2015

This is the second time we have been here. Neil & Tracy are very friendly and helpful, a lovely couple. We were shown to our pitch on arrival by Tracy and given a welcome pack & told us about walks, pubs, & shops nearby. As we have a dog with us it was very helpful to know that we could take the dog with us to the pub for a meal and a drink and for long walks. It is a lovely quiet site with a spotless toilet & shower block, with music. You couldn’t ask for more. Thank you Neil & Tracy for our new laid eggs, which we had for breakfast, a lovely treat. Also the cucumber & plums and for making our stay so enjoyable. We didn’t want to leave and in fact we stayed on for an extra night. Even after 6 days it wasn’t long enough. If you want a peaceful, clean & friendly site we highly recommend Grooby’s. We are defiantly coming back again! Thank you Neil & Tracy again for making us feel so welcome.

Gary & Vanessa Seaman – 1st til 6th August 2015

This is the first time we’ve been to Grooby’s Pit, but it won’t be the last. Tracy met us when we arrived & showed us to our pitch. We requested when booking if we could be close to the toilet as I’m registered disabled.   This was sorted for us as were right next to it. The toilets and showers are immaculate. On arriving here I realized I had forgotten to bring my landing net for fishing. I was going to go out & buy one but Neil lent me one for the duration of my stay. Tracy also gave us some lovely free range eggs. We both can’t wait to visit again.

Louisa Nicholls – 30th July til 1st August  2015

Grooby’s Pit is a wonderful find. A spotless site, very well kept & maintained. Quiet & peaceful even for non fisherfolk! Tracy & Neil go the extra mile to make sure everything runs smoothly and the eggs & information pack were much appreciated. Immaculate toilet/shower facilities. Always clean & the radio is a nice touch. If you want onsite entertainment, Grooby’s Pit is not for you, unless like us you appreciate the entertainment provided by the resident hens, ducks & geese and watching the abundant wildlife. Excellent cycling countryside. A very enjoyable couple of days with friendly & welcoming hosts. Thank you.

Chris & Gillian Roberts – 27th til 31st July 2015

Great site. Great fishing. Excellent hosts. Good clean shower & toilet block. Could not fault in any way.

Chris & Mavis Coleman – 11th til 18th July 2015

We’ve had a very enjoyable stay at this location. The site is very well kept and the toilet/shower block is immaculate. It is without a doubt one of the best sites we have ever stayed at. The owners Neil & Tracy are very friendly and helpful. They are a credit to The Camping & Caravanning Club. We will most certainly be visiting again.

Trevor & Christine Dixon – 9th til 13th July 2015

This is our second visit to Grooby’s Pit this year, and as before we were greeted by Tracy who explained everything to us, gave us a welcome pack, filled with information. She also gave us freshly laid eggs for our breakfast. The site is so tranquil. The lake is so picturesque (and well stocked with fish). The toilet block & showers are very clean. In fact the whole site is spotless. Everything you could wish for to make a perfect holiday or weekend break. Neil & Tracy are a very friendly couple, who go that extra yard to make your stay as comfortable and stress free as possible. Our dog Misha (A German Shepherd) enjoys the walk along the lakeside and the walk on the river bank, which we also enjoy (Due to the pub at the end). Misha is also made to feel welcome, which is a big plus to us as she is part of our family. Everything said I would not hesitate on recommending Grooby’s Pit as a wonderful, peaceful and picturesque campsite. We have just booked for 2 more long weekends here. Well done to Neil & Tracy.

Kevin & Sarah Garlinge – 26th til 30th May 2015

Warm welcome. Clean, well maintained site. Relaxing atmosphere. Great week. Would definitely recommend.

Gary & Karen See – 29th May 2015

A most wonderful & relaxing site, with vast wildlife. Exceptional hosts. The free range eggs given to us on arrival enhanced our breakfast. We will definitely pass on the whereabouts of this wonderful location to our camping friends, and will certainly return again. A hidden gem of a site.

Charles & Alison Dunnet – 25th til 28th May 2015

Friendly & welcoming owners. Very helpful & informative. Immaculate showers & toilet block. Nice touch with the radio & excellent hand driers. Beautiful site with a lake. We are not anglers but loved the wild life, especially the friendly chickens & ducks. Welcome pack also excellent, another nice feature  with great local knowledge. Generous pitch sizes which are nice & flat & well manicured. Whole site is well laid out & kept in very good order. A lot of thought has gone into each pitch placement affording privacy without compromising views. Nice quiet location . Superbly run adult site. Will be back for sure.

Trevor & Christine Dixon – 15th til 18th May 2015

On arrival at Grooby’s Pit we were greeted by Tracy & Neil. A very nice friendly couple who showed us to our pitch, gave us a welcome pack and explained everything (Tracy also very kindly gave us some freshly laid eggs free!). The welcome pack was very informative with codes for the entrance barrier and toilets. Take away menus and eating places, public houses etc also details of dog walks. The site is so scenic with plenty of wildlife. It’s an idyllic setting with beautiful views. Just perfect! The toilet and shower blocks were super clean at all times as was the site itself. Very well lit at night. Pub (The Three Tuns Inn) just 10 mins walk away, friendly atmosphere. We would not hesitate in recommending Grooby’s Pit to others. We have already booked again. Looking forward to coming back.

 

Chris & Margaret Birch – 13th til 17th May 2015

Nice clean tidy site. Shower/toilet block – Excellent. Fishing – Excellent. Owners are very welcoming & accommodating, nothing too much trouble. Looking forward to visiting again in the future. Lovely to see hens, geese & ducks.

Ken & Janette Riley – 28th April til 1st May 2015

Lovely site. Beautifully maintained. Secluded & quiet. Brand new shower block – super facility. Very welcoming and friendly.

Paul & Ann Cook – 17th til 21st April 205

Beautiful well maintained site and lovely hosts. What more could you want? Hope to be back in the future.

Eileen & Pete Wilkinson – 4th to 10th April 2015

A beautiful little hideaway with gorgeous sunrises and sunsets with all the pitches facing the lake and so peaceful. Its like a little piece of heaven in Lincolnshire. Immaculate site with excellent toilet and shower blocks. When you arrive Tracy greets you at the gate and takes you to your pitch with a welcome pack.
Tracy and Neil are superb site owners that will always greet you with a smile and stop for a chat but also work very hard keeping it too such a high standard. Another lovely touch is Tracy will bring you either Hens or duck eggs (if they have laid). We have just come back after staying for a week and had the 6 resident hens around every morning for their breakfast and usually stayed around all day which we loved as we both love wildlife.
We will definitely be back and wish Tracy and Neil all the best for a cracking summer season
Best wishes Eileen and Pete

Michael & Chris Chamberlain – 26th January to 28th January 2015

Excellent welcome. Toilet & showers excellent & clean. Owners very helpful & friendly. We will be returning & definitely recommending to friends.

We had a very friendly welcome and very thoughtful through out stay, especially due to very cold weather. It is ideal for anglers as there is a great lake with good pegs and the river at the side. Unfortunately it was frozen over at the time of our visit. Toilet block is spotless and new, could do with a little heat in cold weather, but we think the owners are looking into this. We will certainly visit this site again.

Paul & Jeanne Riggs – 27th to 30th November 2014

A wonderful hideaway with superb lake view in quiet corner of Lincolnshire. Great signage and surprisingly easy to find, when you know where it is. Stop at access barrier to a very warm greeting and then shown to a pitch and given a comprehensive welcome pack. Pitches are level, spacious (we have a twin axle) with lots of manoeuvring space. All pitches face the lake. Hard standings and grass pitches all with close electricity supply. Near facility block kept impeccably clean and in perfect condition. Two loos and two showers each for ladies and gents, which is a rare CS treat. Wash up station behind main block with hot water. Water, Chemical waste and bins near and very well maintained with good water pressure. Night lighting around the pitches and to the facility block, makes for safe late night trips. Neil and Tracy are perfect site hosts. Very warm and welcoming and always take time to stop and chat when seen, but balance this with keeping their distance so not to be intrusive. We had a small incident when on site, which both Neil and Tracy resolved for us with great kindness. No judgement and the ever present good humour. The expression “There is no such thing as a problem” was used and made us feel relieved and perfectly sums up their approach to their guests. This is our second visit. Our first was our very first trip with our first caravan. We came back as this is the best site we have found to date and I am sure we will visit many more times. 10 out of 10 for everything.

Steve & Sue Kenney – 29th to 31st Aug 2014

Made very welcome by Tracy & Neil. Received a useful Welcome Pack with local information (pubs, shops, Doctors etc). Site very clean, secure (barrier code to enter/exit). Fantastic shower/toilet facilities for a CL site. Local roads suitable for cycling the different villages. Well worth a visit! Recommended. Thanks.

John & Lisa Browne 26th Aug to 29th Aug 2014

Brilliant site. Peaceful, great fishing. Shower & toilet facilities clean & tidy. Neil & Tracy very friendly & informative. Will defiantly come back again. Thank you very much

Ken & Rose Taylor – 19th to 21st Aug 2014

On booking a pitch by phone, my husband said “How pleasant they sounded”. The welcome at the site was very good. The welcome pack given to us was very informative. Neil & Tracy were like old friends (This was our first visit). Nice toilet block kept very clean, pitches are good sizes and well kept. Fishing is good, slow some times, but mainly good. We took a stroll to The Three Tuns Pub which is just down the road. Open Wed/Thurs/Fri/Sat nights & Sunday. The beer was good. Also had a snack also good. We will be back at this site again soon.

Ian & Joanne Burton – 12th to 18th August 2014

This is a wonderful site. If we were really selfish, we wouldn’t tell anyone how good it is. The location is great, the site is kept immaculate by Neil & Tracy who are the hardest working, friendliest people you could meet. The site is a credit to their hard work and thought for all their guests. The fishing is ideal and all the fish are healthy and the lake well kept. The facilities  are kept so clean & tidy and all the pitches are well located. We stayed in a tent and although the weather was unpredictable (i.e. wind & showers) we still had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We would also consider trying out the camping pod on site later on in the year. What makes this site so appealing is the owners. Neil & Tracy go out of their way to make sure you have a great holiday. We will definitely return to this site. We have been caravanning & camping for many years and it’s one of the best sites we have been to. Peace & Quiet & relaxation.  CS of the year – Yes !!

Michael & Edith Willas – 15th to 18th Aug 2014

After 50 years of touring this is probably one of the best sites we have visited. We booked at very short (2 hours) notice, but the lady managed to fit us in. The meet & greet was excellent. We were given a welcome pack and everything was explained to us. The site is impeccably well maintained and is set in excellent surroundings. The toilets are new and spotless. The showers are large. The water is constant and perfect temperature. It is extremely quiet and peaceful. The fishing here is among the best we have experienced and I had one of the best fishing days ever.  I would recommend to any member to stay here.

Steve & Jayne Hartley – 7th to 17th August 2014

Tracy & Neil are two very nice and the most welcoming people we have met on a CC Club site. We have enjoyed our stay very much – loved it. The site is very clean – fishing is great. We will be back with our dog 🙂

Mick & Rachel Finn – 8th – 10th August 2014

Very friendly welcome upon arrival, even though the heavens had decided to open up and Tracy was rather drowned. Still she explained our welcome pack which included the rules of the site, local pubs within walking distance, and even take a -ways. Very informative. Facilities were immaculate and that is due to the care and attention the owners place on the comfort of their guests. Late Friday night the campsite was severely punished by the storms, but both Tracy and Neil worked tirelessly the next day to restoring normality and everything was put back to its original state. Well done to both of them. This is a very tranquil site. Being adults only is a bonus. You can just sit by the lake and watch the fishermen haul in their catch or the wildlife around you. We were given fresh eggs for our breakfast, which I have to say were lovely. Just little personal touches make this site a little gem. Both Tracy & Neil have worked very hard to achieve the comments they receive and we will return.

Stephen Bell – 8th til 10th August 2014

On arrival I was greeted by a very smiley lady, even though it was raining cats & dogs. This turned out to be Tracy, the owner. She led me round to my pitch. Handed me my welcome pack (very helpful & informative), and talked me through where everything is and left me to get settled in. I did order sunshine for the weekend, but there’s no sign of that so far. Saturday – sunshine at last. The gents toilets were blocked this morning due to yesterday’s heavy rain, but they were quickly sorted out. They are kept very clean & tidy. Tracy came around this afternoon and gave me an egg from her free range chickens. The fishing lake is within easy distance from all of the pitches around it. Well set out fishing pegs with steps down to a concrete slab to sit on (these are on one side, with a more natural grass bank at the other side). All in all this is one of the tidiest sites I have ever been on. Tracy & Neil make you feel very welcome from the moment you first arrive. I will definitely be returning with a few friends to do more fishing in this very quiet, relaxing site.

Dave & Kim Smith – 21st til 26th July 2014

We had a lovely stay here. Tracy & Neil are very nice people, they are very helpful & can’t do enough for you. The pitch size is very big, with lovely views of the large fishing lake. My husband fished every day and caught plenty of fish. We would recommend this camping site to anyone. The toilets and showers are kept spotless all the time.

Gillian & Christopher Roberts 20th til 23rd July 2014

Excellent site. Great welcome. Showers and toilets spotless and the site was clean, tidy and well maintained. Who could ask for more? Even the chickens were friendly.

Judy & Wayne Springer 18th til 20th July 2014

Excellent site with great views & peace & quiet. Owners were lovely & couldn’t do enough for us. The camping pods were superb, clean, nice & presentable. The shower facilities were very clean & tidy. We would recommend this site to anyone & we will definitely be coming back.

Allan & Pam Fowles – 26th June til 13th July 2014

My wife & I are now on our second visit to this wonderfully kept secluded site and it never seizes to amaze us both. Since last time trees have started to mature, hard standing for caravans has been laid (but grass next to it for awnings), always a plus in our book. All vans have a front view of the fishing lake, which is also beautifully kept. The toilet/shower block is spotless, as are dish washing facilities. If you want a secluded site that offers 16 amp electrics, a new shower block, spectacular views over the fishing lake, abundant wild life, and hosts that are so welcoming and obliging come on down to Grooby’s Pit. Oh ! and not to forget to mention 2 pubs 5 mins walk away and Skegness a 5 mins drive and Boston 10 mins drive.

Andrew & Sharon Tyler – 6th July 2014

Neil & Tracy gave us a lovely welcome, made us feel right at home. Very quiet site. Lovely and clean showers & toilets. Pub only 5 mins walk. Wildlife in abundance. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

Gemma Chambers & Giovanni Pennacchia – 28th June 2014

Great location with excellent facilities & friendly site owners. Would highly recommend to friends. The pods are amazing.

Richard Haynes & Sarah Callaghan – 21st June 2014

Very friendly & informative introduction. Surprised at how peaceful & secluded the site feels, given its locality to Skegness. The new toilet block looks pretty small, but what a surprise when you go inside. Two very good sized showers with plenty of hangars and a stool and two toilets along with two  hand basins. All SPOTLESS ! Both in Men’s & Ladies. Will definitely visit again as the only downside this trip was that I didn’t bring my fishing tackle.

Janet & John Martland – 5th – 7th June 2014

Best CS site we have been to. We had an extremely wonderful welcome. Excellent facilities, well maintained and cared for. A pleasure to have visited and we are coming back again very shortly.

Cath & Gary Horsley – 2nd -5th May 2014

This was our first visit to Grooby’s Pit. We had a lovely warm welcome. We were impressed with the generous pitch size, didn’t feel over crowded. The views are fantastic and I was totally impressed with the shower and toilet facilities. They looked newly built and the cleanliness is second to none – AWSOME !

Brendan & Colette Walker – 18th til 21st April 2014

Fantastic facilities and the most welcome and friendly owners we have ever met. Will do anything to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We will defiantly be referring friends and family to this campsite in the future and we hope to make a return in the not too distant future also. Everything we expected & more!

Neil & June Hutchinson – 17th April 2014

Very warm welcome, both hosts very happy to help. Also facilities made very easily to access. New toilet block probably the best we have seen so far in the last twenty years we have been camping. No bar on site but advised of one very close by, which is a good thing because on site pubs normally invite trouble. The site itself is well laid out with various areas for hook up, and hard standings. Non electric & camping grounds available. I couldn’t think of a camping area I’d rather be in. You have a river running close by, a lake, little chickens, ducks & geese running around. Just about everything you want for a country retreat and if you do want the seaside, you have Skeggy just down the road.

Ray & Lindsey – 1st April 2014

Thank you Neil & Tracy – A super site. The toilets & showers should win an award – wonderful. Lovely peaceful atmosphere. Just far enough from it all but near enough for civilization. Will come again. Best wishes.

Fiona & Darryl – 2nd Jan 2014

Tracy & Neil are very welcoming. Grooby’s Pit is very well presented and the shower and toilet block is extremely clean. We forgot to bring a torch and Neil loaned us his for our stay. Tracy came over on New Year’s Day with a present for us.

I would definitely  recommend  this site and will be returning in Summer. Can’t wait to fish!

Thanks Tracy and Neil for making our short stay great 🙂

John & Emma Currie – 31st Dec 2013

The site is lovely and we were given a very warm welcome. Neil and Tracy are extremely friendly and were helpful with everything, including placing the caravan and attaching all the relevant wires as this was our first outing in the caravan.

The facilities are excellent with a lovely new shower block and toilets which were spotless. The location is perfect for accessing the surrounding towns and bird reserves in Lincolnshire.

We stayed for 3 x nights during which we were given fresh eggs from the hens on site and Neil rescued our awning when the weather got really windy on day 3.

Good place, good people and we will definitely stay here again!

P.S. – The welcome pack was helpful with information about the local area, takeaways & information regarding the fishing lake if you want to use it.

Graham & Debbie Hill – 26th Aug 2013

This was our first stay at a C&C Club site and we were so glad we chose Grooby’s Pit, as from the moment we arrived to when we left, we were made to feel like old friends.

Neil & Tracy the owners made us feel so welcome. Easy site to find – Good road network – nice wide entrance for caravan. Neil greeted us & showed us to the pitches opposite the fishing lake. We had a choice of where to pitch, so as we have dogs, chose to pitch at the other end of the field. Ideal for my husband who fished every day, straight across from the caravan. Tracy came over & told us about the facilities on site & the local pubs, shops & towns.

Great walk to Wainfleet by the river, be warned takes about an hour, but on a nice day so relaxing.

The toilet block is great, showers lovely & hot & kept so clean by Tracy. Separate toilet for the day Fishermen – a good idea. Attached to the toilet block is a sink to wash plates etc. Also provided outside are recycling facilities. There is also one camping pod at present.

There are chickens, ducks & geese walking around and as a nice touch when we arrived had a choice of 2 x chicken or duck eggs for free – tasted lovely.

The grass by the tents/vans is kept short & the site kept very tidy. A small dog walk might be a good idea even though walking around the lake with the dogs is nice. The lake is a good size with plenty of pegs to fish on. So relaxing.

We liked it so much we left our van & came back for the next weekend (Bank Holiday weekend). Site was a lot busier, but still had that friendly, personal touch. Was given a cucumber, just picked, very tasty & given plums & could take the apples.

Whilst sitting around the lake & relaxing we spotted a king fisher & huge dragon flies. Just next to the river saw the barn owl twice & a cormorant flew over.

This has been a wonderful couple of weekends. The best site we have stayed on. Thanks to Neil & Tracy, will definatly be back as often as possible.

Mr & Mrs Nicolson – 23rd to 26th Aug 2013

We have had the most wonderful weekend here at Grooby’s Pit, from the moment we arrived nothing has been too much trouble for Neil & Tracy to make our stay fantastic. We were warmly welcomed by both and shown to our pod, Tracy gave us a welcome pack and gave us as much information as she could on where to eat, quickest way to Skegness etc.

On unpacking we found that my husband had packed the wrong air pump for our air beds and Neil came to the rescue and got us one. When my husband was fishing & had a fish on his line, his net broke & again Neil got his own net for him to use.

My husband has loved fishing on this very well stocked pond & is very proud of his catches.

The facilities were immaculate at all times and the site was lovely & peaceful. We were even given some of the best plums we have tasted by Neil.

This campsite is wonderful and the couple that own it are wonderful. My daughter is upset that it is now an adult campsite only, but neither myself or my husband are, because we now know where we will be coming when we want some peace & quiet.

Thank you for making our stay so fantastic & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Love Debbie, Lee & Eden x

By Steven Robinson – 23rd to 26th Aug 2013

We have just stayed three nights over the Bank Holiday and had a lovely time. The camp site is very well set up and the facilities are second to none (Excellent). Neil & Tracy  are very helpful and always available. I would recommend the whole experience to everyone. Many thanks Steve & Christine

By Allan Fowles 24th July to 18th Aug 2013

From the moment we entered the gates, to the secluded site we were treated like friends. A beautifully kept site. All pitches have frontal views of the landscaped fishing lake. Lovely lawned pitches with 16amp electric. A brand new shower block.

The site is hidden away, yet is only 7 mins from the main A52 Boston to Skegness road. 3 Miles from the village of Wainfleet All Saints (with all ameneties), and only a 10 min drive to the resort of Skegness. Local watering hole “Pub” The Three Tuns, is a 5 mins slow walk away.

At the risk of finding this wonderful site fully booked next time I wish to visit, try it, you will be surprised “Tracy save me a pitch.”

Foot note, Our Grand son Alfie was amazed at the chickens & Geese roaming around the place, he enjoyed feeding them & loved fishing in his Red Fire Bucket. Upon leaving he said “I’ll be back.” Kids paradise, Grown ups tranquility, and We Will Be Back!

Thank you Tracy & Neil for making our holiday special.

By Damian Hunter 16th Aug to 18th Aug 2013

Very warm welcome on arrival. Tracy showed us to our pitch which was grass non electric. Pitch was in very good condition, short grass & lovely view. Was shown facilities. New shower block is excellent and kept spotlessly clean.

Both Tracy & Neil always around to check everyone is happy.

In summary a lovely site, very well kept in a lovely setting.

 

By Katy Moon & James Mellon – 12th Aug to 14th Aug 2013 (Pod)

This was our first go at hiring a camping pod, and it certainly won’t be our last. On arrival we were met by Tracy who gave us a welcome pack (A lovely personal touch), and talked us through all we needed to know for our stay at Grooby’s Pit.

We were truly taken back by the beautiful surroundings here, the peace, tranquility and warm welcome from the hosts. Our pod overlooking the fishing lake, did all we expected and much more for our short stay. We were even contemplating boycotting work to stay another night!

The toilet and shower facilities were that in which you would expect at a hotel, not a campsite. Extremely clean & well maintained – second to none.

Being surrounded by beautiful scenery, ducks and chickens proved to be a perfect location. Far enough from the chaos of town for you to relax, but close enough not to feel secluded.

The work that Tracy & Neil have put in to creating and maintaining Grooby’s Pit has certainly paid off. The site feels more an extension to their home, with their kind hospitality and warmth, rather than just a camping pitch.

THANK YOU for a lovely stay. I’m sure we will be seeing you again.

By Clive & Ellen Knott 4th Aug to 12th August 2013

We have just had 8 excellent nights at Grooby’s Pit.

Both Neil & Tracy go out of their way to make you feel welcome & whom we now consider as friends. We would have stayed longer if we didn’t have to return for work.

The site is well laid out with excellent facilities. The new toilet block is spotless and is of hotel quality. There is also an outdoor washing up area for campers. The grounds are well kept and all pitches have beautiful views over the lake. The fishing is good with a well stocked lake of different varieties of fish, not just carp like most in the area.

We will be returning soon. Thank you Neil & Tracy

By Mrs A Gibson 2nd to 12th August 2013

This was our first visit to this site so we were wondering what to expect. Well it met more than our top expectations. We were met by Tracy & shown to our pitch, given a reception pack & two duck eggs. Shown the new shower block, CDP and water point. We were made very welcome. Our pitch was overlooking the lake and had pleasant views to the rear. The site was very quiet and rural. The nearest shops, take a ways etc are in Wainfleet.

Tracy & Neil were excellent hosts & couldn’t do enough for us. This is an excellent camping & caravan site whether you are a keen fisherman/woman or not. By the way, the duck eggs were delicious.

Dave & I would like to thank Neil & Tracy for a really pleasant stay and we will be recommending Grooby’s Pit to our friends & family. We will most definitely be coming back again.

 

By Mrs & Mrs Fanneran 9th to 11th Aug 2013

We arrived at the campsite at 18.30 to be greeted by Neil & Tracy with a fabulous greeting. Both have been extremely helpful and friendly, we were given a Welcome Pack which though out all the campsites we have stayed at have never been given before, which we thought this was excellent as this made our Holiday seem real.

We have traveled for 3 weeks from Shropshire up to Glenco in Scotland and back down through England, making this campsite our last visit before returning home. This has to be the Best campsite we have Ever  stayed at. It was very peace full and what we liked most was quiet after 22.00 hrs until 8am the next morning.

Everyone we met on this campsite has been very friendly. We do not do fishing, however watching a few individuals fish was therapeutic for us.

We had fresh eggs each morning for breakfast (what more could any one ask for) 🙂

We would definitely return back here and would recommend this site to all our friends and family.

As I am writing this myself & my husband do not want to leave. We wish we could stay another few days, but duty calls us back home for work.

Overall an excellent, fabulous, fantastic stay and 100% to the campsite owners of Grooby’s Pit. Thank you so much for looking after us, Helen & Eddie xx

By Mr S Monahan 25th May to 2nd June to 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Neil who directed us to his wife Tracy, who showed us to our pitch, which was grassed and level and had a pleasant view of the lake and although I am not a fisherman, I enjoyed a regular catch a 16Lb fish. The 16amp electric hook up was close to my pitch and waste & water was just beyond that. The new toilet & shower facilities although not quite ready, look to be of very good quality and size. As I am of a larger build, that is refreshing. The current toilet is a poto loo, although basic, it was spotlessly clean and functional. The shower currently being used is in a static caravan with endless hot water and again spotlessly clean. We were woken each morning to chickens and ducks roaming freely, which we hand feed. The owners Neil & Tracy could not have been more friendly, Neil even used his valuable time to help with a small repair on my caravan. The welcome pack that Tracy gave us on arrival was full of useful information and very informative. She also recommended a couple of local pubs that did excellent food. The site and the owners were certainly 5 star quality and we will definitely use them again.

By Christine, Ian & Ross King – 25th to 27th May 2013

Fantastic site where Tracy & Neil make you feel very welcome as guests not customers. The boys love the fishing & I enjoy the peace & quiet & wildlife.

When the toilet block is finished it will be even better, but this hasn’t bothered us.

This is not really a site for children unless they like to fish as it’s all about nature & tranquility, with little for children to do. However our 13yr old is happy with a rod all day.

Our second visit, both at bank holiday weekends when the site was busiest. We would have loved to stay the whole week but had already booked somewhere else before discovering Grooby’s Pit. We will without doubt be returning again & again.

My only reservation in writing this review is that the world will find this fabulous little site where even the chickens welcome you – although perhaps that’s because they’re after the maggot bait!!

See you soon Tracy & Neil & thank you again for making us so welcome.

Loved the baby coots – so cute.

By Bev & Steve Clayton – 24th – 27th May 2013

Very friendly owners, with a lovely welcome.

Site as described and clean. Fishing facilities were good.

Could have a marked dog walk around rally field with dog bin.

 

By Pam & Brian Reed – 24th – 27th May 2013

Ideal place for fishing, quiet & peaceful. Ground is flat ideal for vans.

Owners Tracy & Neil are lovely people, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

All in all a lovely 3 days would recommend to friends.

Thank you.

 

By Rachel Dunn – 17th to 19th May 2013

Having been recommended this site, we were expecting good things and we weren’t disappointed! The site was clean & well maintained and was located in a quiet rural setting, with pleasant views around.

On arrival we were greeted by Tracy, who was very friendly & helpful. We were given a welcome pack, which included details of local attractions and site information, which was very useful.

The site is perfect for a quiet relaxing break with the family.

The new toilet facilities look like it will be a fantastic addition, making this a perfect site for all!

By Andy & Andrea Lowe – March 2013

Really excellent site. Hosts Tracy & Neil are lovely and have put a fantastic effort into making this site a great place to stay over. It’s the attention to detail that makes the difference. The fishing lake is well stocked and each pitch is well well designed with a concrete landing and steps. The views from the caravan are lovely. The grass is neat & tidy. The site is very clean and spacious. Each pitch has a good electric hook up and a post and rail fence has a really good set of external lights. One for each awning which makes getting in at night really easy. There are bins regularly located around the site & special bins for anglers nets. The family have some great pets including chickens, and we had some nice fresh eggs in our welcome pack. Great roads for biking, good pubs close by with open fires and family friendly. Only 2 miles from Wainfleet for provisions and an excellent fish and chip shop.

We will defiantly be visiting again. For the future the owners are adding some hard standing for the vans and a toilet and shower block is currently being built (March 2013). This site is a gem. Highly recommended.

By Carl Morton 28-03-2012

Great place to go fishing, fantastic peaceful surroundings and a great lake! Brilliant hospitality and very friendly people (the owners, Neil & Tracey). I would highly recommend visiting Groobys Pit for a great day’s fishing. Thanks !

By Ian & Anne Bordill 05-04-2012

We received a warm welcome from Neil & Tracy on our two night stay. Bream,carp, perch & rudd were caught. The lake is set in lovely, peaceful surroundings. It is ideal for an away break and we look forward to going back soon.

By Stuart & Susan Windrass  07-05-12

Could not wish for a better site. Extremely friendly & helpful, we will be back & telling other campers about the warm welcome we received.